About Us

FREDAward 380x285

The Fred Award

Launched in 2006, The Fred Award is named in honour of ex-pat comedy icon John Clarke’s legendary Kiwi character Fred Dagg.

The Fred Award recognises the Best New Zealand Show in the NZ International Comedy Festival each year, and is presented at our Festival finale, Last Laughs.

Past Winners


Guy Montgomery


Eli Matthewson


James Nokise


Chris Parker


Rose Matafeo

2016 Rhys Mathewson
2015 Dai Henwood
2014 Trygve Wakenshaw
2013 Jarred Christmas
2012 Rhys Darby
2011 Jan Maree
2010 Wilson Dixon
2009 Te Radar
2008 Ben Hurley
2007 Dai Henwood
2006 Brendhan Lovegrove